City Commission

The Sturgis City Commission is the primary policy-making body of the City of Sturgis. Under the Commission-Manager form of government, it is the legislative body, responsible for the passage of municipal ordinances and the overall direction of City. The Commission sets policy to be carried out by the City Manager and City Staff as well as appointing the City Manager, City Attorney, City Assessor, City Treasurer and the City Clerk.

The Sturgis City Commission has nine members. The City is divided into four precincts and two members of the Commission are elected from each precinct with one member elected from the City at large. A precinct map is available HERE. Members elected from precincts serve a term of four years while the member at large serves a two year term. Each year in November the Commission nominates one of its members as Mayor and another as Vice-Mayor.